Mine

„Glück Auf“ (ger.) in the mine

SchaubergwerkEnter the in-ground part of the Felsenmuseum and you will be amazed by all of the interesting facts about Edelserpentin, about the history of mining in Bernstein and also it’s surroundings and much more. There was already active copper and iron-disulphide mining in the Middle Age.

The different mining methods, how Edelserpentin was won in the past and how it is won today, will be displayed with the help of lifelike models. To salvage 1 m³ of Edelserpentin, you need to win 10.000 m³ of „general Serpentin“.

Glass cases, which are built into the rock, present you rare minerals and precious stones from Austrian mountains. The special eye-catcher is an extraordinary beautiful mountain crystal cave, which was found on the „Hohe Sonnblick” and reassembled in the Felsenmuseum.

In the Museum there are minerals, which are glowing in fascinating colours. The mysterious luminescence is created by ultraviolet light, when these Minerals are illuminated in a completely dark black room.

BergkristallIn the treasury of the museum you can see extraordinary minerals, crystals and precious stones from the private collection.

The roofed open-air part from the museum is dedicated to the antimony-ore mining in the town of Schlaining, which was closed in 1991. The mining was stopped because of lacking appearance of antimony-ore. You will see many historic machines and tools, which have been on duty till the end. The original elevator used at the Mathilda-mine can be operated by pressing the lever.

Schaubergwerk

„Glück Auf“ im Schaubergwerk

SchaubergwerkBegeben Sie sich in die unterirdische Welt des Bernsteiner Felsenmuseums und sehen Sie alles Interessante über den Edelserpentin, die Bergbaugeschichte des Ortes und seiner Umgebung und vieles mehr. Schon im Mittelalter wurde reger Bergbau nach Kupfer und Schwefelkies betrieben.

An Hand von naturgetreuen Modellen werden die verschiedenen Abbaumethoden des Edelserpentins, den ersten Grabungen im Stollen bis zum heutigen Tagebau in modernen Steinbruchanlagen dargestellt. Um 1m³ Edelserpentin bergen zu können, müssen mehr als 10.000 m³ „gemeiner Serpentin“ abgebaut werden.

In Felsenvitrinen präsentieren sich dem Mineralienfreund Raritäten aus Österreichs Bergen. Sensationell ist eine außergewöhnlich schöne Bergkristallkluft, die am Hohen Sonnblick gefunden, sorgfältig abgetragen und im Felsenmuseum wieder zusammengebaut wurde.

BergkristallIn der Schatzkammer des Museums sind außergewöhnliche Mineralien, Kristalle und Edelsteine aus der privaten Sammlung zu sehen.

Der überdachte Freilichtbereich ist dem 1991 eingestellten Antimonerzbergbau Schlaining gewidmet. Der Abbau musste mangels ausreichender Vorkommen beendet werden. Es ist gelungen, viele historische Maschinen und Werkzeuge, die teilweise bis zuletzt noch im Einsatz waren, der Nachwelt zu erhalten. Den Original-Aufzug, der im Mathildeschacht eingesetzt war, können die Besucher selbst in Betrieb setzen.

Um sich mit den Begrifflichkeiten der Bergmanns-Welt vertraut zu machen, können Sie sich hier das Bergmanns-Wörterbuch als PDF downloaden.